Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

HEAD TO HEAD: Coventry City v Millwall - The side's cannot be seperated in the all time head-to-head record

8 September 2016

Ahead of the Sky Blues' visit to the Den on Saturday, City are currently level with Millwall in the all time head-to-head record...

Coventry go into Saturday’s game against Millwall having done the double over them last season, including the impressive one-sided result at the Den. 

Played – 71
Games won – 29
Games drawn – 13
Games lost – 29

Since the club’s first meeting over 100 years ago, the record is split with 29 wins apiece. 

August 2015 seen the Sky Blues visit the Den at the beginning of the season and what was seen as a notoriously difficult away fixture on paper turned out to be a demolition job for City.

Ruben Lameiras and an Adam Armstrong brace put the away side three up inside just 24 minutes – This coming after City goalkeeper Lee Burge had saved a fourth minute penalty from Lee Gregory. 

Armstrong’s first was a candidate for goal of the season as he caught David Forde off his goaline to beat the Republic of Ireland international goalkeeper with a delightful chip. 

10 minutes from time Jim O’Brien played a one-two with Marcus Tudgay before firing into the corner to complete a fantastic result for the Sky Blues.

In the reverse fixture, City took advantage of a 29th minute dismissal for Millwall’s Shaun Williams when he appeared to headbutt Lameiras.

Byron Webster headed the Lions into an early lead from a Shane Ferguson corner, but a second half comeback stunned the visitors. John Fleck’s 30-yard strike and a Marcus Tudgay toe-poke finish gave City all three points and helped them complete the double over Millwall.

Last five fixtures: WLLWW

Tony Mowbray’s men will be aiming for victory on Saturday, which will see them overtake the Lions in the all time head-to head record.


Sky Bet League One: Coventry City 2-1 Millwall


Sky Bet League One: Millwall 0-4 Coventry City


Championship: Coventry City 0-1 Millwall


Championship: Millwall 3-0 Coventry City


Championship: Coventry City 2-1 Millwall

Advertisement block