Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

NEWS: Mark Robins and Viktor Gyokeres nominated for EFL Awards

11 April 2023

Mark Robins has been nominated for Manager of the Year and Viktor Gyokeres nominated for Player of the Year at the upcoming EFL Awards!

Vincent Kompany, Michael Carrick and Mark Robins are in the running to be named EFL Championship Manager of the Season at the 2023 EFL Awards.

Taking place on Sunday 23 April, winners will be announced at the star-studded EFL Awards at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane.

A new accolade introduced at this year’s awards, Kompany’s exploits in leading Burnley to the top of the Championship table have earned his place on the shortlist, while Michael Carrick impresses in his first full-time position as a manager, with Middlesbrough in contention for an automatic promotion spot. Coventry City’s rise through the EFL over the years continues to show no sign of slowing, with Mark Robins also highlighted for his outstanding work at the Sky Blues.

In line for the prestigious EFL Player of the Season award in the division, the two top-scoring players collide alongside the midfield heartbeat of the league leaders. Chuba Akpom’s 25 goals have Boro vying for promotion, while Viktor Gyökeres’ 18 goals and nine assists has fired Coventry City to the verge of a Play-Off spot. The ever dependable and hugely experienced Josh Brownhill completes the shortlist for Burnley.

In Sky Bet League One, a potential promotion tussle makes up the shortlist for Manager of the Season, with Kieran McKenna (Ipswich Town), Steven Schumacher (Plymouth Argyle) and Darren Moore (Sheffield Wednesday) shortlisted. In the EFL Player of the Season category, Wednesday’s midfield maestro Barry Bannan is pitted alongside Bristol Rovers’ Aaron Collins, who has 15 goals and 11 assists so far this season, and the division’s top goalscorer with 24 goals, Peterborough United’s Jonson Clarke-Harris.

In Sky Bet League Two, Paul Simpson (Carlisle United), Richie Wellens (Leyton Orient) and Steve Evans (Stevenage) are shortlisted for Manager of the Season, with their respective Clubs currently occupying three of the top five spots in the division. Bradford City’s Andy Cook and Northampton Town’s Sam Hoskins have 44 goals between them in the league so far, as they vie for the EFL Player of the Season award alongside Stevenage’s defensive lynchpin and captain, Carl Piergianni.

The EFL Young Player of the Season Awards will once again be given out divisionally to recognise the best young talent in the League. In the Championship, Bristol City’s Alex Scott is shortlisted alongside Middlesbrough’s Hayden Hackney and Amad Diallo of Sunderland AFC.

In League One, Charlton Athletic’s Jes Rak-Sakyi makes the list, with Ipswich Town midfielder Cameron Humphreys and Plymouth Argyle’s Bali Mumba completing the line-up.

Two defensive players make the shortlist in League Two – Colchester United’s Junior Tchamadeu and Jayden Sweeney of Leyton Orient. Swindon Town’s Jacob Wakeling is also nominated.

The EFL Teams of the Season will be announced on the night with a starting XI chosen for each individual division. The EFL Goal of the Season award will be voted for by the public on ITV and announced on the evening.

New for 2023, the EFL will also be presenting the EFL Club Employee and EFL Innovation awards, alongside the Green Club and Diversity award.

The League’s two most prestigious awards, the Contribution to League Football and Sir Tom Finney Award, will be given out on the night.

The Contribution to League Football award is presented annually by the Board of the EFL to an individual who has given a lifetime's service to the professional game on and/or off the pitch. Burton Albion Chairman Ben Robinson MBE DL was honoured last year, with previous winners including John Rudge and John Motson OBE.

Awarded to recipients who have had an outstanding career and contributed exceptionally to the EFL, previous winners of the Sir Tom Finney Award include Kevin Phillips, Rickie Lambert and Jobi McAnuff.

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account