Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

MY CCFC XI: Dave Earp selects his best side

26 May 2020

Club News

MY CCFC XI: Dave Earp selects his best side

26 May 2020

Dave Earp is the next Coventry City fan to select his CCFC XI!

Dave lives in Cheshire - he was born in Eastern Green, but his family moved when he was 6 and he has never lived in Coventry since. 

He is pictured as the Sky Blues won the Checkatrade Trophy in 2017.

Dave said:

"My first game was a 2-1 win over Man City in 1970, all the sweeter as it was a treat for me and my brother.  He was and still is a Man City fan.

"I have been a season ticket holder a couple of times, this being when I was at university in Birmingham.  That was especially sweet in 1987 when there were numerous Sky Blue banners across campus, right in Birmingham city centre!"

Dave now selects and talks us through his team...

Goalkeeper - Steve Ogrizovic

The holder of the record number of appearances and saved us on numerous occasions.

Right back – Danny Thomas

A talented player who was destined for bigger things until cut down by injury.

Central defence – Trevor Peake and Gary Gillespie

Both accomplished and classy, would have been a formidable partnership.

Left back – Stuart Pearce

His career showed his quality, a shame a big chunk was with Forest.

Midfield – Steve Hunt, Gary McAllister, Denis Mortimer and Tommy Hutchison (my all time favourite Sky Blue). 

This would have been a classy, attacking midfield and would have created backs of chances.  We missed Gary McAllister’s creativity and goals after he left and he proved his worth at Liverpool.  Denis Mortimer was again a big loss and he proved his value in Witton.  Both Hunt and Hutch (for the opposition by then) featured in a nice FA Cup win at Maine Road, another one I went to with my brother!

Attackers – Ian Wallace and Mick Ferguson

They worked well together, little and large and banged in loads of goals.

Others edged out include: Bill Glazier, Jimmy Blyth, Mick Coop, Brian Borrows, Mo Konjic, Brian Kilcline, Robbie Keane, David Speedie, Dion Dublin, Darren Huckerby….

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account