Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

TEAM NEWS: Kastaneer and O'Hare Make First Sky Blues Start

Three players are handed their first Sky Blues starts...

27 August 2019

The Sky Blues have made six changes from the side that beat Gillingham on Saturday, with Gervane Kastaneer, Josh Eccles and Callum O’Hare all handed their first starts of the season for City.

Ben Wilson makes his second appearance of the season, in goal, having also played in the 4-1 win against Exeter City in the first round.

There’s one change to the back four, with Fankaty Dabo returning from suspension in place of Sam McCallum who drops to the bench.

Saturday’s match-winner Dom Hyam partners Michael Rose at centre-back with former Watford man Brandon Mason retained at left-back.

A new look midfield sees Eccles and O’Hare come in at Vicarage Road and will play alongside captain Liam Kelly.

In attack, Kastaneer also returns from suspension and is joined by Amadou Bakayoko and Jordy Hiwula up front.

Kyle McFadzean returns to the squad on the bench, having missed out on selection at the weekend through injury.


Sky Blues XI: Ben Wilson (GK), Fankaty Dabo, Dom Hyam, Michael Rose, Brandon Mason, Liam Kelly (C), Josh Eccles, Callum O’Hare, Gervane Kastaneer, Jordy Hiwula, Amadou Bakayoko.

Subs: Marko Marosi (GK), Kyle McFadzean, Sam McCallum, Zain Westbrooke, Jordan Shipley, Wesley Jobello, Matty Godden.

Advertisement block